Governance  Who we are

Who we are




The Governing Board is the main decision making body. It consists of all stakeholders that provide funding to the CONNEX Support Unit. The Governing Board has the principle steering responsibility and appoints the members of the Advisory Committee.




Germany is the founding and first member of the Governing Board since the launch of the CONNEX Support Unit in January 2017. It is represented by Günter Nooke, Personal Representative of the German Chancellor for Africa in the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and Dr. Sören Dengg, Division Head of Energy, Infrastructure, and Raw Materials at the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).




Günter Nooke

Sören Dengg

Dr. Sören Dengg heads the Division of Energy, Infrastructure, and Raw Materials at BMZ. He has been a strong supporter of the CONNEX idea from the very beginning and strongly supported the founding of the CONNEX Support Unit Secretariat with German funding.


Besides CONNEX, his division is engaged in several relevant global processes and projects crucial for the achievement of the 2030 Agenda. CONNEX highly benefits from those linkages.


Prior to his current post, Mr. Dengg worked for Deutsche Post DHL as Vice-president Government Affairs, with the Federal Chancellery of Germany on issues of European integration and bilateral relations to European States, and served as a diplomat in the Foreign Office of Germany and the political division in the German Embassy, London.





Advisory Committee



The Advisory Committee is the key advisory body of the CONNEX Support Unit. It provides high quality advice to the Secretariat and the Governing Board and further helps to promote the CONNEX Support Unit.

The Advisory Committee currently consists of eight highly experienced individuals who work on a voluntary base and serve in their personal capacity. For the composition of the Advisory Committee, attention was paid to ensuring that members come from multiple jurisdictions, and from different relevant professional backgrounds. The public and private sectors as well as non-governmental organizations and academia are represented.


The members of the Advisory Committee are generally appointed by the Governing Board and serve for an initial term of one year. More information on the current Advisory Committee can be found below.

Karl P. Sauvant | Co-Chair of the Advisory Committee

Natty B. Davis | Co-Chair of the Advisory Committee

Natty B. Davis, II, acquired over fifteen years of experience in distinguished public service at the highest level of the Liberian Government where he served, inter alia, as Former Chairman of the National Investment Commission (NIC), Chair of the Inter-Ministerial Concession Committee, Minister of State without Portfolio and head of the Liberia Reconstruction and Development Committee (LRDC), Founder and Lead of Liberia’s Philanthropy Secretariat, Deputy Minister of Commerce and Industry, Acting Minister of Transport and Coordinator of Liberia’s Economic Financial Management Committee (EFMC). Since 2014, he has held the position as Sr. Partner of the Devin Corporation, which he co-founded in 1992. In July 2016, Mr. Davis reassumed the role of Managing Director of the firm. Mr. Davis has also consulted extensively outside of Liberia in the United States as well as Eastern and Southern Africa.




The CONNEX Support Unit is operated by a Secretariat responsible for the Unit’s day to day activities and the implementation of support. If you have any questions or queries please do not hesitate to get in touch.


Juliane Weymann

Leon Riedel

Dr. Olumide Abimbola